Taking a second to breathe

Here we are at November and we have been flying at warp speed it feels like.  The school year is off to a decent start.  definitely as challenging as I expected but in different ways.  As an academy leader I have had to change my focus from only classroom based to a whole academy with management of teachers and students, and having a student teacher makes me more aware of my classroom practices because I have someone who is truly learning from me and I don’t want them to pick up and “bad habits”. Way more time-consuming than I expected.  I am re-evaluating, reflecting and sharpening some areas I have “neglected” because I haven’t needed to focus on it. Part of this reflection is a result of me finally doing the teacher induction program that is required by the State to get my Level II teaching certificate.  I need to get more streamlined and work smarter not  harder.

But anyway-things at school are settling down, the students are getting used to the extended day.  Monday and Wednesdays are for academic enrichments like SAT/PSSA Prep and senior seminars, while Tuesday/Thursdays are for social enrichments like step team, cooking, martial arts, knitting, drumline, etc…Basically the enrichments are what most other schools consider clubs where students stay voluntarily stay after school, but we have to “teach” our students how to be involved. It took a long time to figure out, but we are figuring it out.

Our teachers are working hard and so dedicated, and our students will benefit.  We just all fall asleep at 7pm now lol.

I’ll try to update more regularly, but that’s all for now-no funny graphics this time

 

~ by phillyteacher on November 2, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
